The Wonderful All-Encompassing Card Clinic Jan 31, 2020 1:58:30 GMT
Post by Jéské Couriano on Jan 31, 2020 1:58:30 GMT
1) Replacement effects are anticipatorily triggering to events their wording does not indicate it should (and thus Cutpurse has a finger on your own tokens, and Sagume's lifeloss-to-lifegain conversion is paying attention to an event that is already lifegain to begin with)
2) Replacement effects can be set off by other replacement effects (and thus one Cutpurse reacts after another has done its thing, and Sagume's two halves of the effect would do the same, in which case a generous reading of 614.5 is the only way any of it doesn't go off forever)
or 3) This interaction never existed in the rules on a technical level to begin with, and the only reason any of it works is because when you lift the hood Eli Shiffrin is curled up inside going "shhh, it works, trust me" (which lets Cutpurses work in an intuitive way even when it doesn't make sense if you think about it too hard, and Sagume could theoretically get even smudgier than she already very much is and work just fine, provided she bribes and/or coerces the right people)
I should note that the quotes I provided are from the judge rulings on the card, and are copy-pasted from the card's Oracle page (scroll down to the bottom).
They are consistent with the two modifying the same event because the token is not actually created until those effects resolve, as per the Cutpurse's own wording. Cutpurse hijacks the actual creation effect, and as such any and all triggers based off of that effect must resolve before the token can actually be created since it modifies an aspect of the token generation (i.e. whose control it is created under).
And once again, this does not address Sagume at all because (1) the triggers on her trigger on different events that are mutually-exclusive and (2) each replacement creates its own event as a result of it resolving, per 614.6.
You can try to cheat this by putting them on the same line all you want, but this does not work, as even a casual read of the entirety of Section 614 will tell you. The rules explicitly state "effects", not "abilities", which tells me that an ability can have multiple triggers which independently fire, as is the case here.
BTW, in re Cutpurse: Rule 616.1.